Well, lookit heeere, a typewriter thingamajig.

wp_20170102_10_43_22_pro

I always wanted a typewriter and decided on a whim that I’d buy myself one last Christmas as a gift to my self, retro style while everyone else was receiving the current trends in tech as gifts…and NO, I ain’t no hipster. I won’t be dragging this thing a long in a cafe and get weird annoying looks from millenials whilst they prod it with a stick and saying ewww. We had a typewriter before, way back in high school and college. I even forgot the brand but I believe it was a Chinese portable one because I fondly remembered it having a flimsy design and plastic all over. And also, back in college, we had a typing class still, so I am quite familiar with using one. It’s like being back to basics kinda thing. Lesser distractions to my writing (ehgaahd!) was my primary goal into having one again or so my brain lead me to believe (crosses fingers and toes).

Anyways, searched high and low on the local online trading site and viola! Found a vintage 1966 Facit TP1 midsized portable typewriter within my area including the carrying case, dust, grime, rust, cobwebs and all. Met with the seller after Christmas day to her place to see and check out the unit if it was still in working condition and so far, so good. All it ever really needed was a little TLC and it should work out fine by my estimates. After arriving home, I bought a new typewriter ribbon (still amazed that the bookstore still sells some) and some cleaning materials and searched for the web on the how-to’s and don’ts to cleaning and maintaining typewriters. The interwebs was really a huge help. After my initial cleaning everything went A-OK as I typed on it and truly is in good working condition but I still have to work out on some rusty areas some time soon. Hallelujah! Here’s an initial typeface specimen:

typeface_sample

So far, the only downside is that it is quite heavy for a portable IMHO but, as with every deal, there is always a trade off. Also, I’m still waiting to warm up to the typeface. The lowercase is still capitalized on a smaller scale, albeit, but I like the clean modern look of it though. I know it will grow on me in due time…or do I need another typewriter?! hmmmm. Been reading a lot of good reviews on this baby from the typosphere.

It’s been a long while and I have been relearning and flexing my typing muscles again into this baby currently and liking it. Wish me luck. Now all I have to figure out how to activate the wifi on this beauty and everything will be all set 🙂

P.S.

Fret not, digitizing typewritten things are now somewhat fairly easy using an OCR app like Office Lens or Evernote or Google Notes so I think it will be swell to use a typewriter for drafting things out and type with reckless abandon and revising things later on a PC. 01/01/2017 18:27 Office Lens

 

 

Leave a Reply

