100 Word Challenge Done…Now What?!

Confused young man with a laptop and typing machine on a table

(image source)

I have finished my self-imposed 30 day 100 Words-a-Day Story Challenge. You can read all the very short shorts here. It began last March 2 and ended March 31st. It was a challenge to overcome my writing fears and develop some kind of habit which I did but then again right after I was done I was back to my older lazy assed self and did not write up until today. What a chomp I have been. Anyways, I learned many things from the challenge, namely:

  1. It can be done. The habit forming to write something, anything everyday for the rest of your miserable life whether for pleasure, for posterity or like what I aim to be, a writer. You just need a whole lot of will power everyday not to get side tracked from other, more enjoyable things like watching a good movie or hanging out with friends.
  2. You learn many things about the craft along the way. Like correct format, punctuation, word usage and a thesaurus as a life saver.
  3. You have a long way to go. Prepare for the long haul. Dedication, dedication, dedication.
  4. Start small aim big. I made the challenge and set it to 100 words only as a stepping stone and boy was I wrong. Making a story work with just 100 words is hard, a lot of hack and slash happens to the work. I do hope what I churn out from day 1 to the end could somehow be palatable or decent enough to build my rep.
  5. Distractions, distractions, distractions. Focus is the key.
  6. All we need is a little bit of a push (be it on the 50th floor of a building) and once you start, you can pull through it in the end.
All in all, it was a great experience. An eye opener and definitely not an exercise in futility. Now, a new challenge awaits me.

 

Leave a Reply

